Tags

Since that first phase of training and my first down week, I’ve made some huge gains and had a few setbacks. I’m now up to an 8 mile run and doing repeats I wouldn’t have thought possible in my running since surgery, but my swimming and biking have taken a bit of a backseat. Between some sickness, travel and changes with my work schedule, they’ve kind of fallen off a bit.

Initially, I was beating myself up for it. I so desperately want to succeed in my first half marathon back after surgery this November, that I was giving myself a hard time for missing workouts and generally just not feeling like myself while working out. Working with coaches again who’ve done so much for me, I also desperately don’t want to let them down. Β I had a little clarity during a long run last week though. Despite these set backs (or I should say life) happening, I have to remember what I’m coming from here and who I’m doing this for at the end of the day.

2 years ago going into my FAI surgery, there was no guarantee what my body would be able to do when I came out. But I’ve always liked pushing boundaries and chasing dreams. So that’s what I’ve done. And I have to remember, that I’m not just doing this for one race or from one goal to the next goal, but that I’m chasing these dreams to create a lifelong love in the sport of triathlon and seeing just what my body and mind are capable of achieving. Achieving for me that is, no one else. It’s okay to take a step back and let life happen, in fact, life’s going to happen whether you want it to or not. It’s about finding that balance and never giving up.

So as I sit here hopefully on the tail end of sickness with things under control, I’m ready to get back at it all next week and keeping dreaming and chasing those goals.

