Tags

They lied. Those sneaky, conspiring jerks. They told me 30 was just another number. Well 6 months into being 30 and I’m calling bulls**t.

Let me start at the beginning…

I’ve had multiple blogs over the years. A Tumblr trying to create my own Eat, Pray, Love while getting over a break up. Instead of traveling the world eating pasta and learning to meditate, while falling in love, I went to movies on my own, sat a wine bar with my dog and took road trips through North Carolina. It was pathetic, but it was a big push in deciding to go to grad school. Even if the first grad school option didn’t really work out. I mean, can you picture me in Miami?

A cooking blog…or I should say my “I actually can’t cook and hate cooking and have no patience for cooking, but love Julia Child” blog. Funny, when I was diagnosed with celiac disease, cooking became my lifeline, quite literally. I remember going into the grocery store and actually reading a food label for the first time. An hour and a half later, I walked out with two items in tears. These days, cooking is a favorite past time of mine. Something I don’t get to do nearly enough.

A running blog. I was starting to “train” for my second half marathon. I thought reading blogs about running and having my own blog would make me a “runner.” I was already a runner…but this blog lead me to read Dean Karnazes books and “Born to Run” and before you knew it, I was signing up for my first marathon. Which ironically, I got to run next to Dean for a bit at mile 20.

A LIFE blog. I’ll spare you the boring details.

A different running blog. It was one of those somewhat successful but no one has ever heard of blogs. This one followed training for my first marathon. Got me a few dates, a boyfriend (that thankfully didn’t work out), got me into freelance writing and gave  me some of the best friends a girl could ask for.

When I couldn’t run anymore because of how much pain I was in it became a FAI blog and my recovery from surgery…but really it was just my way of saying “screw you and everyone that 10 years prior gave up on me and swimming and told me the pain was all in my head…oh and an I will run again despite the surgery prognosis” blog.

Essentially all these blogs came to me at a moment I needed help getting through something or making a transition in life. And it’s not so much about the blog, but about the writing. Putting the jumble of thoughts in my head onto paper. Or keyboard in this case. And just in case you were wondering why I don’t just put this on paper, privately, there are piles of notebooks in the double digits to accompany all these blogs.

The common theme through all of this though has been about learning to accept myself. Accept that there are many facets that make me and I should love, accept, own and whatever other cliche word you can think of, those facets. Funny, I think turning 30 wizened me up. Oh I knew all along that’s what I was searching for and just wasn’t ready to accept it.

So what is this blog going to be about? Me. How conceited. But honestly, I don’t want to define it. If having multiple blogs has taught me anything it’s that “me” is constantly changing and evolving. All my passions and interests are still the same, but I’m not afraid to share them anymore. I’m not afraid of what people will think of me for it. I’m just being me.

IMG_7524.jpg

