Tags

, ,

img_0535Title: Dracula
Author: Bram Stoker
Genre: Gothic Horror/Gothic Fiction
Publisher: Barnes & Noble Classics Series (originally published 1897)
Format: Paperback

Summary and Review
This is not your vampire story of today’s culture. In my opinion though, it’s the first cross over from folklore vampires to fictional vampires. Dracula is truly a monster, he doesn’t sparkle in the sun, but there are glimpses of how and why vampires are romanticized today within this story. It was the turning point for authors like Anne Rice and Stephanie Meyer to develop vampires further. More to the point though, Stoker’s use of antiquated English is phenomenal, as well the concept of letters and journal entries gives a unique perspective, as well the benefit of being able to absorb the story, but never feel lost.

I read this story on a whim to enter a contest to spend Halloween night in Dracula’s castle in Romania. I didn’t win (still bummed about that), but writing an essay about what I’d ask Dracula if I could was a fun project. And what would I ask him if I could? See for yourself. Here is my essay, written in journal entry form.

Carrisa’s Journal
26 October

History of vampires has proven to be quite interesting research. I’m finding traces of how the East met the West in Transylvania. I must say, the more I read about the difference between Eastern European and Western vampires, the more convinced I am that Count Dracula is the connection. I’m remembering the journals and letters I read about Dracula, I’m quite convinced that Dracula had a bit of humanity hidden under the monster façade. He wanted to start a life in London. Jonathan Harker was seeing to that. Today’s Western Vampires are romanticized, with the ability to love and turn humanity on and off. Misunderstood monsters. If only Dracula was alive still, I’d be curious to ask if he thinks he could have evolved like the Western Vampires of today.

Rating
4 Stars

