Tags

, , , , ,

FullSizeRenderTitle: The Girl With The Make Believe Husband
Author: Julia Quinn
Genre: Historical Romance
Publisher: Avon Books
Format: Mass Market Paperback

Summary
When Cecilia Harcourt receives a letter that her brother, and only remaining family member, was injured on the battlefields in the Colonies, she packs up a few meager belongings and heads across the Atlantic Ocean to find him. Upon arrival though, instead of finding her brother she found his best friend, Edward Rokesby, unconscious in hospital. In an effort to help Edward, she tells his superiors she is his wife. Edward eventually wakes up, however he has amnesia and despite not remembering getting married, recognizes Cecilia and believes she must be his wife, as everyone says. As they set out to find out what happened to her brother, Cecilia finds herself tangled in the lie more and more, and wondering what will happen to her heart when Edward finally regains his memories.

Review
As with all Julia Quinn books I’ve read, and I’ve read them all (she’s my favorite), I was hooked from the first sentence. And true to form, it was a quick read and a book that had me staying up much too late to finish…and paying the price the next morning. It was a cute story and I really enjoyed the change of scenery in America (or what will become America). However, the story was simple. It had great promise and then it just kind of concluded. Did it have a good ending that made me smile? Yes. Did I find myself laughing throughout the book? Yes. Did I like the characters? Yes. But there was just something missing. If you’re looking for a quick, fun summer read though, this is definitely the book for you!

Rating
3.5 stars

